Ends


Every now and then
A lifetime comes to bitter end
Don’t forget the bags we packed
A month of Sundays
Realising the bitterness I hide
And the love I wanted but lacked

Every day is just a broken promise
We should know what we missed
All I ever wanted was something safe
This is where forever got me
Buried in wishes and half truth
Lost in some God forsaken place

I don’t know where I’m going
But I remember all the places I been
And I promised myself
I’d never end up there again
Yet here I am
So very different and yet I’m the same

My world is on fire
My ashes blown into the wind
I so wanted someone to save me
Now I’m an empty bar on a Saturday night
Ashtrays full, the last song played
I walk away, a man, a worm, a travesty

Leave a Reply

