Books burning


I’d like to burn my memories
Like books in the city square
Just as on May 10th 1933
I’d like tear my thoughts out
And drag them into the street
Perhaps then, I’d be free

I’d like to forget all the pages
Of stories I never got to finish
Tales of love, hope and tragedy
Beautiful things written down
Lived just for a little while
Let them burn, they were never meant for me

Let them light up the night sky
Sparks lifting in the dark
With onlookers staring into the night
Let them stare at the destruction
Let them see the ruin we have wrought
For nothing, could ever make it right

Leave a Reply

