my eyes are like marbles

cold dull glass that only reflect

I pretend to smile

and yet, all there is, is a lifetime of regret

I see no future, I have no past

I have a great big now of nothing

I am afraid the world has come and gone

and all while I was sleeping

There are so many words

So many things I would say

but I lie out in the field

Lost, broken, forgotten I decay

I have no brother, but if I did

I would tell him how tired I am

I have no other

and frankly, I don’t give a damn

All the reasons, all the promises

I forget just why it is

I remember everything

and I can’t live like this

Who cares what they think

or just what they say

to what judge do I appeal

it doesn’t matter anyway

Leave a Reply

